Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Differently Normal by Tammy Robinson review, tour and Author Interview.

Every family has its issues. 
Heartbreaking and heartwarming in equal measure, DIFFERENTLY NORMAL is about first love and the sacrifices you'll make for the ones you hold close. For fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes.
For Maddy, life is all about routine. It has to be, to keep her sister with autism happy and healthy. With just Maddy and her mother as Bee's full-time carers, there's no time in Maddy's life for complications like friends, let alone a boyfriend. So when Bee joins a new Riding for the Disabled stable and they meet Albert, the last thing on Maddy's mind is falling in love.
Some things, she's about to learn, are outside of our control. Albert has resigned himself to always being a disappointment to his strict father. When he meets Maddy, he gets a glimpse of what being part of a family can be like, and of the tremendous sacrifices that people will make for the ones that they love.
DIFFERENTLY NORMAL is a heart-wrenching tale of love and loss, because sometimes it takes letting someone else in to discover who you really are . . .
'A funny and poignant tale about first love. Tammy Robinson is a natural storyteller.' Nicky Pellegrino

For Maddy, life is all about routine. It has to be, to keep her autistic sister happy and healthy. With just Maddy and her mother as Bee’s full time carers, there’s no time in Maddy’s life for complications like friends, let alone a boyfriend.

So when Bee joins a new Riding for the Disabled stable and they meet Albert, the last thing on Maddy’s mind is falling in love.

Some things, she’s about to learn, are outside of our control.

Albert has resigned himself to always being a disappointment to his strict father. When he meets Maddy, he gets a glimpse of what being part of a family can be like, and of the tremendous sacrifices that people will make for the ones that they love.


Differently Normal is a spellbinding story of love that will leave you breathless.
 


Q & A With Tammy Robinson 
When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

My first full length (ish) book was when I was around the age of twenty. I was working in a shoe shop and every lunch hour I’d (handwrite) a story based loosely on my senior high school when I developed Bulimia and depression. I have no idea where it ended up but I bet I’d be cringing if I had the chance to read it now!


How did you choose the genre you write in?

I didn’t actually set out to choose a specific genre, I just write the books that come to me. It’s what I know I guess, and what I enjoy reading. I’ve toyed with ideas in other genres before but they just don’t do it for me.

Where did you get your ideas to write this particular novel.

I had the idea for the two main characters first, Maddy and Albert. I wanted this couple to both come from difficult family circumstances, throw them together and see how they could work it out.

Do you ever experience writer’s block?

No. Touch wood. I’ve just finished writing my eighth book and so far, so good, the ideas keep on coming.


Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

I would have to say that they’ve all influenced me. Every single book I’ve ever read (I’d love to know that figure by the way, I suspect it would be quite significant!) has taught me in some way. I do remember one book, Benny and Shrimp; that book really showed me that you can write intriguing stories about everyday people in everyday situations.


Is anything in your book based on real life or real people? Or is it purely imagination or a bit of both?

Bit of both. Mostly fiction, but the character Bee is based on the autistic daughter of a friend of mine.

What was your favourite part in writing this story and why?


The developing love story between Maddy and Albert. I guess I’m a sucker for romance, and watching those first buds of love develop is always fun to write (and read).


How did you choose this title?


It was actually the suggestion of a friend of a friend in the UK. She’d read it in a Terry Pratchett book, (who I adore reading). I was trying to come up with a title and I knew it needed the word ‘Normal’ in. I had l things like, ‘Our version of Normal’. When I asked a few friends what they thought of the titles I’d come up with, one remembered her friend using the term ‘Differently Normal’ to describe differently abled people, and I knew it was right instantly.


What do you like to do in your spare time?

Spare time? Sorry I’ve never heard of it, not with three small children around! No seriously if I do get any time to myself it’s writing time. Always. I can’t write when I’m looking after them, so as soon as my husband has a day off I’m at my desk, hammering away at the keyboard. It’s just what I love to do.


Some quick fun quiz questions.

Cold or hot
Hot
Dog or cat
Dog
sock or slippers
Socks
tea or coffee
Coffee
Light or dark
Dark
chocolate or lollies
Chocolate, hands down.
rain or sun
Sun! Definitely!
Hunter or gatherer

Gatherer 



Differently normal is one of those books that show us that life is what you make it .. It Makes us realize how lucky we are in some circumstances, and how life can be so different for us all,  But with that blend of normal entwined. We are taken into Bee, Maddy and ALberts lives, the author delivers  such well fleshed out characters, with depth and definition, a story both heart breaking and warming all in one. 

The characters are lovable and very enjoyable, and the author pens   a story line that is touching and so very real to life for some. Its not sugar coated, quiet raw at times, so have the tissues handy !!! 

A story about family, love and life. With a blend of humor, sadness and despair even at times, It shows us how the lives of loved ones are effected and how autism affects not only the person but the loved ones around. The author has educated the reader as we flip the pages, many points outlined and we are given knowledge within the pages. We see how Bee copes with life, and how her family copes with her 24.7 care.  

The story shows us how hard it can be to be in love, find time for yourself and help care for a family member all in one. Juggling life, and feelings from both finding new love and loving family and being there.  The author delivered vivid imagery within the pages, bringing light among the often darkness and love within every page turn. 


Differently Normal will bring forth every emotion . You will be giggling, teary eyed and also enlightened  within the pages. A love story that will leave you starry eyed and filled with butterflies. 

Visit Hachette - Author Info and Purchase Links


About The Author 




Tammy Robinson 

Tammy Robinson is a contemporary women's fiction author from the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand. After years spent working her way round the world, Tammy settled back in New Zealand with her husband, their two girls and a newborn baby boy. She has published six novels through Amazon, and DIFFERENTLY NORMAL was her first novel with Hachette New Zealand.
Facebook /TammyRobinsonAuthor
Twitter @TammyRobinson76